Chicago Dramatists

For 35 years, Chicago Dramatists has nurtured plays and playwrights, adding strong new voices to the American stage.

We invite you to join us in our ongoing mission to help build the future of American theatre.

The creative home for new and established playwrights
Playwriting Classes

Learn the art and craft of playwriting from seasoned professionals. Whether you're an experienced playwright or just beginning to write for the stage, our classes will develop or enhance your skills in a supportive, positive environment.

Winter classes are now open for registration! Find out more...!

2014-15 Season!

Join us for two impassioned, provocative plays that will take you on an unforgettable ride of risk and reclamation!

Find out more...!


Upcoming Events

20 Dec 2014 2:00 PM • Chicago Dramatists
27 Dec 2014 2:00 PM • Chicago Dramatists
03 Jan 2015 2:00 PM • Chicago Dramatists
10 Jan 2015 2:00 PM • Chicago Dramatists

View the complete Chicago Dramatists calendar...

Script Lab Play Critiques

Chicago Dramatists is pleased to offer our Script Lab play critiquing services to playwrights at all levels of expertise and experience. All critiques are performed by our Resident playwrights and artistic staff, and each includes insightful advice to help the playwright in the further development of the play. Find out more...!

Members of the Chicago Dramatists Network Playwright program are entitled to free critiques! Find out more about Network membership!

Scene Shop Kudos

Since 2007, our Scene Shop playwriting workshop has served as an important resource for the development of new plays and playwrights. We're proud of  its participants and are pleased to trumpet their writing victories. Read about their accomplishments...!

Box Office | Media Kit | Become a Friend | Contact Us
1105 W. Chicago Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60642  (312-633-0630)
Copyright 2011, Chicago Dramatists. All rights reserved.

  Visit us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter!

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software